Iced over

This is an ongoing series of posts chronicling my “rock ‘n roll catering” days…there’s no nutritional value.

champions_on_ice

These were always fun…kinda. One of the few events that utilized “in-house” catering, i.e., from the Scheman Building. I ended up doing four or five of these at the height of the “ice skating” craze of the 90s. “Champions on Ice” founder and promoter, Tom Collins, spared no cost in making sure a whole bunch of young, spolied skaters from Russia were comfortable and entertained all day. Seriously, entire billiard tables were toted around with their usual production! Viktor Petrenko, Michelle Kwan and Oksana Baiul were all associated with the event. What I’ll always remember is:

1) Tom’s son, Marty Collins, was an arrogant, spoiled brat in his own right. He walked into catering, came up to me and sternly said, “I’m Marty Collins, I make all of this happen.” Perhaps, but he couldn’t spell to save his life – the rider he gave me was ladden with grammatical errors and misspellings the likes of a second grade teacher seldom sees.

AND,

2) I always played music during dinner. The year Oksana was on tour, I had one of my favorite bands, LYCIA (the album wasEstrella) , spinning in the CD player in the background. She commented on the music as she smiled at me while leaving her dining table; though it was in Russian and I had no idea what she may have said, it seemed pleasant.

Leave a Reply

